Turn off Windows Messenger and improve your PC Performance

There are many windows processes which usually run in the background and thereby tend to eat up system resources and slow down the computer. In my previous post, you learnt how to process idle tasks in Windows.

One of the process which usually starts on its own by default whenever Windows starts is Windows Messenger. If you happen to be one of those who doesn’t use Windows Messenger ( like me 🙂 ) then its in your PC’s best interest that you turn off the Auto mode of Windows messenger which by default loads it into the memory and keeps running it in the background, irrespective of whether you use it or not.

Follow the steps below to disable Windows Messenger on Windows Startup.

1.) Open Windows Messenger by typing ‘msmsgs.exe’ at the Run or double clicking on the program icon under Programs Files folder.

Windows Messenger

Windows Messenger

2.) Click on Tools –> Options.

Windows Messenger Options Tab display

Windows Messenger Options Tab display

3.) Click on the tab which says ” Preferences”.

Disable auto startup for Windows Messenger

Disable auto startup for Windows Messenger

4.) De-select the checkbox which says ” Run Windows Messenger when Windows Starts”.

5.) De-select the checkbox which says ” Allow Windows Messenger to run in Background”.

Also read: Canon Powershot A470: No frills, entry level digital camera

[How-To] Find out the location of person using your Wireless network

You can follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/vaibhav1981

Do stay tuned to Technofriends for more, one of the best ways of doing so is by subscribing to our feeds. You can subscribe to Technofriends feed by clicking here.

Cheers

Vaibhav Pandey

11 Responses

  1. Good tip. I have a suggestion, turning off the Microsoft Windows OS is also a great way to improve PC performance. Running Ubuntu, Gentoo or what Linux distrobution have you will pwn most of Microsoft.

  2. Hmmm, nice tip…that’s why I do YM WITHOUT the audibles and the thingamajigs running in the background…XP is still a-ok for my needs and wasn’t convinced of the Mojave Experiment…

    I use Firefox 2 (with my essential add-ons) still because Firefox 3 performance hasn’t convinced me to upgrade (some add-ons haven’t migrated there yet).

    Nice tip for hardcore Microsoft users c”,

    score: 9/10

  3. Wow, that’s a great tip! Really to improve your PC consistency. Thanks for the share ^__^

  4. very true. An easy way I’ve found to manage startup tasks in windows is to download Spybot Search and Destroy > turn on the Advanced Mode >tools > startup items. It puts your startup items in checkbox format and gives a description of what each one does…

  5. Thats a very good tip. I will do it straight away.
    I wander if you can help on another matter.
    When I connect to windows media player it will not go past connecting to media, can you help please.
    John

  6. Spybot is truly amazing. I didn’t know it had that though, thanks for the tip Brian!

  7. You are right ! I noticed this myself, and tried to
    tell my friends but no one would listen. I can’t
    wait to show them this post ! LOL !!! 🙂

  8. You are right ! I noticed this myself, and tried to
    tell my friends but no one would listen. I can’t
    wait to show them this post ! LOL !!! 🙂

  9. …And if you’re running Find Fast, kill it. Tweak UI/Power Toys, downloadable from Microsoft.
    –Glenn

  10. Wow, that’s a great tip! Really to improve your PC consistency. Thanks for the same. I have gone and done it and the annoyance has stopped.

  11. Articles and content in this section of the website are really amazing. From http://www.puneonnet.com

Leave a Reply

