Tutorial: Find IP Address of Sender in Yahoo Mail!

In my previous article, i had written about Finding IP Address of the sender in Gmail. Many readers have replied back to me to write about figuring the IP Address of sender in Yahoo Mail. In this tutorial, i shall be writing about the trick to get the IP Address of sender in Yahoo Mail.

Also Read: (Tutorial: Find the IP Address of sender in Gmail.)

The IP Addresses for all the sender mails are readily available in the header information. We have already discussed the way to track down the mails sent to Gmail. In order to get the information out from your Yahoo Mail, please follow the steps mentioned below.

For Users using New Yahoo Mail:

IP Tracking

  1. Login to your Yahoo mail and open the mail for which you wish to know the Sender.
  2. Click on Compact Header/Standard Header, this presents a drop down menu. Select,Full Header from the drop down menu.
  3. A window Pops up with the entire header details.
  4. Look for the term Received: from [eg: Received: from 216.248.197.88 (EHLO mx1.info.brainbench.com) (216.248.197.88) ]. The IP Address mentioned is the sender IP Address.
  5. Also importantly, there are times when you might find multiple Received: from entries, in that case, please select the last one as the valid choice.

For Users using Yahoo Mail Classic:

Yahoo IP Tracking

  1. Login to your Yahoo mail and open the mail for which you wish to know the Sender.
  2. If you do not see the headers above the mail, you need to enable them. In order to do so follow these steps:
  • Click on Options link on the top-right corner.
  • In the Mail Options page being displayed now, click on the link called General Preferences.
  • Scroll down to Messages section where you have the Headers option.
  • Make sure that Show all headers on incoming messages is selected.
  • Click on the Save button.
  • Go back to the inbox and open the mail for which you wish to know the sender’s IP.

3. You should now be able to see headers in the mail.

4. Look out for header with title Received. The IP Address is listed in the column (e.g. from 216.248.197.88).

Note: There are times when you might find multiple Received: from entries, in that case, please select the last one as the valid choice. If there are no instances of Received: from with the IP address, select the first IP address in X-Originating-IP.

Let me know if you have any doubts getting the IP Address.

Cheers,

Vaibhav

15 Responses

  1. hey vaibhav,
    you have provided really cool posts… thanks for sharing it with us.
    Take care

  2. Thanks Rohini for your appreciation.
    -Vaibhav

  3. […] Tutorial: Find IP Address of Sender in Yahoo Mail! […]

  4. Received: from 69.147.95.70 (HELO smtp107.plus.mail.sp1.yahoo.com) (69.147.95.70)
    by mta138.mail.re3.yahoo.com with SMTP; Mon, 11 Feb 2008 04:35:38 -0800

  5. hi…… i got some mails from my girlfriend from the same system that means from same ip address but as u said the ip adreess in hear with recived are diffrent diffrent ip adresses…plz can u give me the answer why?

  6. this was really helpful. my problem got over. thank you very much

  7. I got an email from someone using gmail. I did the IP
    address lookup thing. It says this person is from Los Angles. Does this mean that is where the person located or where gamail routes from?

  8. Cool tip, Thanks.

  9. I am not getting any option in general preferance>>messeges actions to “Show all headers on incoming messages” , help me.

  10. I shall be very thankfull if anybody can help me by hacking my yahoo password.
    rhasan555@yahoo.com
    br
    riju

  11. I don’t get it…. I have yahoo classic but the there is no headers options in general preferences-messages only..
    Messages
    Yahoo! Shortcuts: When reading email messages, show me Yahoo! Shortcuts [What’s This?]
    Show me Yahoo! Shortcuts
    Things of Interest (people, organizations, products…)
    Places (street addresses, cities, countries, points of interest)
    Email Addresses
    URLs
    Phone Numbers
    Package tracking numbers.
    Do not show me Yahoo! Shortcuts

    Please help….

  12. you can see the full header by opening an yahoo e-mail message and pressing the Full Header option down in the right corner of the page…

  13. I have a big problem with someone stole my email. This person send me a emails with hard threat, insult, etc. I can not find the X-originating IP in the full header. In the yahoo full header gave me all the information but not the X-originating IP. I would like if you can help me how I will can find this IP.

    I will specting the answer

  14. I M Unable to find Header in General Preferences
    Can U plz mail me How to find I’ll Pleased if u help

Leave a comment