Recovering Hard Deleted Items in Outlook 2003.

We talked about Recovering Permanently Deleted emails from Outlook 2003 in the previous post. However, if you have deleted your mail items the hard way, i.e. by pressing SHIFT+DEL the mail is not sent to the Deleted Items folder and therefore the previous trick fails.

Microsoft Outlook 2003

By default the Recover Deleted Items functionality is only enabled on the Deleted Items folder in a user’s private folders; items that are hard deleted cannot be recovered. However, the good news is that this can be changed by making a small change to the Registry.

Warning If you use Registry Editor incorrectly, you may cause serious problems that may require you to reinstall your operating system. Microsoft cannot guarantee that you can solve problems that result from using Registry Editor incorrectly. Use Registry Editor at your own risk.

Follow these steps to modify the Registry

1. Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
2. Locate and click the following key in the registry:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Exchange\Client\Options
3. On the Edit menu, click Add Value, and then add the following registry value:
Value name: DumpsterAlwaysOn
Data type: DWORD
Value data: 1

4. Quit Registry Editor.

That’s it. Now you can recover your hard deleted mails as well. 🙂

Also read: Recovering ‘permanently’ deleted email in Microsoft Outlook 2003

[How-To] Recover lost Outlook PST Password

You can also follow me on Twitter at http://twitter.com/vaibhav1981

Do stay tuned to Technofriends for more, one of the best ways of doing so is by subscribing to our feeds. You can subscribe to Technofriends feed by clicking here.

Cheers

Vaibhav

11 Responses

  1. […] Related Read: Recovering Hard Deleted Items in Outlook 2003. […]

  2. tnx U. It helped me

  3. plz tell me how can i get my deleted mails back on my gmail. they were very important to me

  4. Hi vini,
    Try looking in the trash. As of now this is the only way available to access deleted gmail mails.
    Cheers

  5. This trick just helped me recover hundreds of accidently deleted emails that were very valuable to a client of mine. A million thanks!

  6. Great to know that Steve. Thanks for visiting the blog and commenting.
    Cheers
    Vaibhav

  7. I accidentally shift+deleted my mail folder that I had created to download my mails into.

    I have followed the steps mentioned above and modified the registry. But I am still not getting any option as “recover deleted items” under the tools menu in my Microsoft Outlook 2003.

    Please help me how do we recover the mails. As the option is not available in my software.

    Let me know.

  8. i had a separate folder for all the mail accounts and i accidentally Shift+deleted on of the important folders.

    I tried doing all the settings mentioned above but the option od “recover deleted items” did not occur in my Microsoft outlook 2003.

    Please advise as to what should I do to recover my folder with the mails.

  9. Absolutely brilliant. Thanks for this. Very useful for someone as clumsy as me.

  10. need to receoved the deleted ail from Current inbox

  11. Follow these steps to modify the Registry

    1. Start Registry Editor (Regedt32.exe).
    2. Locate and click the following key in the registry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Exchange\Client\Options
    3. On the Edit menu, click Add Value, and then add the following registry value:
    Value name: DumpsterAlwaysOn
    Data type: DWORD
    Value data: 1
    4. Quit Registry Editor.

    And then close the outlook and reopen.
    Goto Tools – > Recover Deleted Items. That’s it.

Leave a Reply

